Vansadhara River Water Dispute

The State of Orissa in February 2006 sent a complaint to the Central Government under Section 3 of the Inter-State River Water Disputes (ISRWD) Act, 1956 regarding water disputes between the Government of Orissa and Government of Andhra Pradesh pertaining to Inter-State River Vansadhara for constitution of an Inter-State Water Disputes Tribunal for adjudication. 

On receipt of the complaint,  Secretary (WR) convened an inter-State meeting on 24th April, 2006 and 5-6 December, 2006 followed by a review meeting on 2nd March, 2007.

Meanwhile, the W.P.(C)No.443 of 2006 filed by State of Orissa came up for hearing before the Hon’ble Supreme Court on 30th April, 2007. The Hon’ble Supreme Court was requested to adjourn the matter for a longer time so that the Central Government can once again try for a negotiated settlement and, therefore, the matter was adjourned.

On 6.2.2009, the Hon’ble Supreme Court directed Central Government to constitute a water dispute tribunal. Accordingly, Ministry of Water Resources has constituted Vansadhara Water Dispute Tribunal (VWDT) vide Notification Dt.24.2.2010. The Tribunal has its Head-Quarters at New Delhi.

Hon’ble Tribunal delivered its judgement in the I.A. No. 1 of 2010 on 17th December,2013, allowing the Government of Andhra Pradesh to construct the Side Channel Weir along with the ancillary works as proposed and has, inter-alia, directed for constitution of a 3 member Supervisory Flow Management and Regulation Committee on River Vansadhara.

Govt. of Odisha has filed SLP No. 3392/2014 and stay application against interim order of VWDT dated 17.12.2013. Matter is subjudice in  the Supreme Court.


The report of Vansadhara Water Dispute Tribunal under Section 5(2) of ISRWD Act., 1956



Last Updated on:27/09/2017
Last Updated By :NIC